Pageant Talk with Crystal Stubbs

This Miss Universe Bahamas contestant is simply gorgeous, but us pageant folks know that with so many gorgeous contestants, beauty must be more than skin deep.  After this interview with one of The Pageant Diaries frontrunners Crystal Stubbs, you’ll see why she could possibly carry the crown!

PD: Welcome to the wonderful world of pageants! It’s my first time seeing you in the pageant realm but I’m so excited that you’re here! Out of all the crowns to compete for locally, what made you decide on the Miss Universe Bahamas Crown?

crystal_stubbs_miss_universe_bahamas_2016-1
“The relentless encouragements and knowledge on pageantry started pouring from all directions in my life.”

CS: Thank you! I’m not quite sure why I wasn’t persuaded into participating in a pageant earlier on. I’ve been missing out! Lol. Miss World Bahamas, Miss Earth Bahamas, and Miss Universe Bahamas I once classed as one entity and didn’t put much distinction between those and I was once a pageant critic. However, after being “discovered” at an event by a former Miss World Bahamas crown holder, the relentless encouragements and knowledge on pageantry started pouring from all directions in my life. Receiving a clearer understanding on what Miss Universe Bahamas Mission is, which is to truly empower women by providing a stage to speak about their passion, goals and ambition coupled with the excitement of having more reasons to play dress up made me begin to consider it, then ultimately plunging right into it.

PD: Well nonetheless, we’re thrilled to welcome such a stunner! I absolutely loved your choice for National Costume, the flamingo was sheer perfection, what was the inspiration behind that?

CS: Thank you! I’m a huge animal lover so its no surprise that I chose the beautiful Pink Flamingo. The Flamingo’s simplicity, it’s gregarious personality, it’s grace was the icing on the cake for me as our National bird reminded me of myself in some ways. Physically comparing, its long neck I would also say we have in common too lol. Growing up my brother always teased me about my long neck! If I wasn’t a Giraffe ,I was a flamingo but now I totally embrace and love it! So I was more than happy to flaunt with confidence my National Costume, The Pink Flamingo.

14222293_589998434535210_6178806314864309617_n
“The Flamingo’s simplicity, it’s gregarious personality, it’s grace was the icing on the cake for me…”

PD: With such a stunning costume, what can the Pageant Diaries expect from you for the evening gown competition?

CS: Confidence, Confidence, Confidence is what I’ll hint to you. Expect an undeniable feeling.

PD: Now you’ve got me on the EDGE of my seat! EEEEKK! I am so excited! It’s a cliche question but one of my favorite ones to ask, what’s the first thing you would do if you were to capture the Miss Universe Bahamas title?

CS: Hug my mom! I look at my mom and know the struggles she been through and the opportunities she didn’t have in her life that she tried to the best of her abilities to provide for her children to have. That crown for me would mean a lot but that crown is more for my mom. Everything that I have worked hard for is a reflection of what she has done for me. Her determination, her love and persistence has always resonated with me and for that she’s really the queen in my Life. Queen to Queen, it would be a proud moment for both of us.

crystal_stubbs-2
“That crown for would mean a lot, but that crown is more for my Mom. Everything that I have worked hard for is a reflection of what she has done for me.”

PD: That’s seriously sweet Crystal! She’ll be proud of you regardless, I know I certainly am!  Let’s put away the tissues for a second, here’s a conundrum; Cheeseburger or Bamboo Shack? Lol Random I know!

CS: Well muddasick! I’m giving this question a stare down lol. Bamboo Shack all the way! That crack chick is life! Put some Ketchup and mayo on that and drink that down with ginger lemonade Switcha is the highlight of my day. My mouth watering now just thinking about it. I just hope Bamboo Shack is open right after the pageant is completed that night, I totally deserve that!

PD: Hahahaha!!! Bamboo Shack, we’re calling you out!

If The Pageant Diaries readers were one of the judges for final night, tell us we should choose you to be the next Miss Universe Bahamas?
CS: I have a positive message to spread, Michelle Miller Motivational couldn’t have put it any better when she said you must rule your destiny intentionally rather than let it continue accidentally. You have a responsibility to yourself. Against all odds, despite how convoluted your upbringing and circumstance may have been you can break that chain, prove natures law wrong and be that Rose that Grew from Concrete. I have proven that to myself and would love to expound that message to young women especially those who struggle to find their place in society and the world at large.
crystal_stubbs_miss_universe_bahamas_2016-2
“…you must rule your destiny intentionally rather than let it continue accidentally.”
PD: What’s been the most outstanding element of your journey towards the crown?

CS: The Board Members of the Miss Universe Bahamas pageant. They’ve shown personal interest towards each one of the delegates, catering to their personal circumstances to encourage us to continue on the quest to be the best version of ourselves. They’ve been a beautiful catalyst on women empowerment, and that’s what it’s all about. It’s contagious and I can’t help but to continue that pattern of encouragement and empowerment.

crystal_stubbs
“The Board Members of the Miss Universe Bahamas pageant […] they’ve been a beautiful catalyst on women empowerment and that’s what it’s all about.”
PD: Thanks so much Crystal, all the best on your journey!
Leave a Reply

