Farewell Interview with Miss Universe Bahamas Toria Penn

It’s been a fantastic journey for Toria! From winning the Miss Universe Bahamas crown to having the once in a lifetime opportunity to represent the Bahamas on the pageant’s world most prestigious stage at Miss Universe, it’s been quite the adventure.

PD: It must have been really strange to find out that you are no longer with the Miss Bahamas Organization, pretty much overnight! How has the transition been for you?
MUB:  It was a shock at first to be honest. I had to digest it quickly and move on. I have always been a very adaptable person so I took this as just another part of my reign to move forward in. I do miss the MBO family but I’ve also enjoyed getting to know the new owners and seeing what visions they have for the future of Miss Universe Bahamas. I look forward to seeing what Albany will do for the future title holders.
12000943_10153009950741039_4111237097742907697_o
“I do miss the MBO family but I’ve also enjoyed getting to know the new owners and seeing what visions they have for the future of Miss Universe Bahamas”
PD: Tell me all the details about what it was like to compete on the Miss Universe stage, spare nothing!
MUB: If I could sum it up in one word it would have to be “incomparable”.  Competing at Miss Universe was an unbelievable experience. A lot of work, but worth every moment. You wake up everyday at about 4am to ensure you are flawless, and at around 7 you are ushered away to a day full of interviews, filming, rehearsals, and photo shoots. It’s days full of prep for the shows and in the mean time you are making life time friendships with girls from across the world. Pageant night is so intense and some girls are so anxious they pace back and forth backstage. The entire night emotions are high. Standing on stage to hear top 15, you can’t hear the sounds of the crowd, because your heart is beating so loud. And then to be there to experience the wrong person being crowned is just crazy! It was a unreal moment and so unfortunate for both girls. What a way to end a show. Truly an unforgettable experience.
12247078_937044899702093_860145467749668082_n
“Truly an unforgettable experience. “
PD: I would love to hear about all about your reign. All the highs and all the lows of being Miss Universe Bahamas.
MUB: The best parts of my reign has been getting to work with the kids at the AIDS foundation. They have really given my life more purpose to shed light onto their stories. I’ve also enjoyed all of the traveling I’ve been able to do. Getting to walk in New York fashion week was a dream come true and I got to go to London for the first time. Its been so much fun working with Bahari, I stand by the brand truly. There hasn’t really been any lows, I’ve made this year to be as successful as I possibly could.
img_0127
“There hasn’t really been any lows, I’ve made this year to be as successful as I possibly could.”
PD: How has the crown been of assistance to you with pursuing your platform?
MUB: It has really helped to allow me to put a title behind my cause. I’ve always wanted to be that voice that uplifted women and children and being a strong image for them to look up to and follow. The crown has definitely given me what I needed to do that.

 

img_0404
“I’ve always wanted to be that voice that uplifted women and children and being a strong image for them to look up to and follow. The crown has definitely given me what I needed to do that. “
PD: What qualities do you think the next Miss Universe Bahamas should have?
MUB: The first word that comes to mind is charisma. I think that a queen needs that. That ability to hold the crowds attention with her personality and her warmth. Also, she should have a charitable heart. That’s what being Miss Bahamas is all about, giving back to our communities and making an impact. I think we have a lot of girls with that potential running this year.
img_0269
” That’s what being Miss Bahamas is all about, giving back to our communities and making an impact.”
PD: What’s the one thing you will miss about being Miss Universe Bahamas?
MUB: Well, you never really stop being Miss Bahamas, so there isn’t much I feel that I would miss. I plan on continuing my work with the AIDS foundation and making an impact in the Bahamas. So I’ll forever be Miss Bahamas, just apart of the Alumni now.
img_0116
“…you never really stop being Miss Bahamas…”
PD: I know without a doubt this won’t be the last time we are seeing you, what’s next for Toria?
MUB: You definitely will be seeing more of Toria Nichole! I am getting ready to launch my own makeup brush company end of September beginning of October called brushes by Nichole. I also have hopes to work on a documentary about the kids at the AIDS foundation. My ultimate goal being to get it on a major network. So I hope that all of my supporters continue to follow me on my journey after the crown.
Leave a Reply

